Venice beach up to Santa Monica Pier

Last day in Venice Beach staying at Samesun Hostel! This morning was the first morning since arriving in America I had used the free breakfest and coffee in the hostels. I just stuck with toast and coffee, sadly the coffee was horrific, I thought I would go find some good coffee and then a place to hire a bike. 
Being only about 8.30am I noticed nothing was opened, I was stopped by this man who was raising money for food and education for the homeless kids in Venice Beach. I only had $3.00 on me so I gave it to him and I asked why it was so quiet, he said it was the same as Hollywood/ LA nothing get started until about 9/10am.
I thought this would be the perfect time to just walk Venice Beach Boardwalk, it was nice and quiet and no-one was around. I also thought it would make for some good photos. 
I was headed towards Santa Monica Pier.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
As all the shops and stands were closed, you could really see how bad the homelessness was in Venice Beach, these people live these lives day in day out. It breaks my heart. 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I kept walking and taking in all the sites, just looking around whilst heading towards the Pier, at this point I was well over half way there so I thought I would just walk the rest of the way.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I was hoping they would have to have a good coffee shop on the pier. Thankfully there was, I ordered my coffee and just sat on a park bench that over looked the ocean. 
The next minute, this dumb pidgin flew into the fence attached to the pier, I jumped up to see if it had fallen into the water or if it flew off…. thankfully it was ok and it got away. This where I met two Cali people. We talked about all sorts of things, where they were from, what it was like to live in California, assorts of things. They did seem to giggle at my accent and the way I was saying things….I don’t think they under stood what I saying to well. Time was flying by, as I looked at my watch it was already 3.30pm. They were heading of home and I thought it was time for me to head back as well.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I started to walk back towards the hostel, I kept walking…. right past it thinking there might be something else to look at but it all seemedmuch the same. So I just turned around. Getting back to my room I decided to re pack my bag as I am heading off to San Fransisco for few days and I am catching a flight so the bags can’t be over weight.
After that it was time for a shower and $5.00 taco’s as it was taco night at the hostel, all the taco’s you can eat for just $5.00! winning!

Leave a Reply

